I somehow just realized that I have Windows Movie Maker on my computer and can pull off video stills (albeit rather grainy) of the low quality videos that I’ve taken the past couple of chase seasons using a throwaway videorecorder. The above two shots are a couplet from our 2006 Plains chase. My brother and I were in western Kansas when this video was taken of a gustnado in the field across from us. The top vidcap is what we were seeing just before a nearby CG struck just behind us, providing the mid-day lighting quality of the bottom shot. (The scary looking thing in the lower right of the bottom shot is my brother’s head.) Needless to say I didn’t stay outside the vehicle much longer after this as the lightning became even fiercer. I’ve pulled off a few more shots and will post them another time as I wait for spring to show up again.

