With no cap and lots of CAPE (pun intended) updrafts shot up early today, with my initial clue that there were storms coming from a very noisy closeby cell that developed a radar-indicated hailshaft. After agonizing over the radar for 15 minutes or so (should I leave work early or not?) I jetted out the door at 1815 UT and pointed the chasemobile out of the parking lot. The storms were growing faster than I could position myself to avoid the rainshafts, but they weren’t moving very much so they suffered quick demises as the updrafts collapsed. I didn’t have a camera with me but I did see some cool CG’s (couple of them were a wee bit too close when I was out of the car) and actually experienced some greenage. It was definitely more of a spotting day rather than a chase, but storms are storms!!

