Given today’s SPC forecast of yet another Moderate Risk for our region I was torn between being excited and dubious about the day’s chasing potential. However, I did succumb to the urge to check things out and was able to leave work early, just before a severe TS watch was declared. I stopped by the house to pick up my gear and check radar, finding a decent storm all by itself heading east from Orange county toward Louisa and Spotsylvania. I arrived at Ware’s Crossroads at 3:15 pm to see what looked like a wallcloud trying to form. I moved a couple of miles east onto a side road and watched as the features grew and began to rotate. (Step 1, step 2, step 3, step 4) The storm was moving toward me slowly and I was able to stay in place for 20 minutes or so as CGs crashed down all around me. I did call in a rotating wallcloud report to the Wakefield forecast office and heard a report on my trusty weather radio that this particular severe-warned storm showed signs of rotation. (Yellow circle around rotation; blue “x” marks my position.) The original wallcloud faded and another one attempted to form as I watched (step 5, step 6), but nothing much else happened so I pulled up stakes and headed further southeast to stay ahead of it. I was able to watch the leading edge pass by, but the well-defined mesocyclone had weakened and wasn’t as well defined. But, more storms were on the way…

