Given the lack of familiarity with the road system and the fact that I was navigating by myself, I can almost excuse myself from missing the funnel in these two pictures. Both were taken at 3:11 pm this past Sunday (10 August), and both have been heavily enhanced. They show a definite funnel that wasn’t there in the next photo in the sequence that was taken a minute later. At the time the storm was just to the northwest of Rapidan, and I had just found the vantage point from which these were snapped. This was most definitely a funnel, but probably not a tornado. However, since I couldn’t see the ground underneath it I can’t rule out a tornado either. I blame only myself for being in too much of a hurry and not focusing on the fascinating events occurring right in front of me. Here’s to not being in such a hurry next chase!

