It looks like tomorrow afternoon will find me out chasing…the question is exactly where to target. Without more fine-grained model analysis I am currently thinking Thornburg, which would give me several road options. However I will have to check the short range models tomorrow for both timing and location indications. There is supposed to be a dry slot working its way into our region to provide clear skies and thus convective heating, so I will be watching the radar as well. I would like to be in place by 2:00 pm, but we’ll see how conditions develop.
Meanwhile it looks like my Plains chase target for yesterday would have been good, since several lines of severe storms passed through northwestern OK yesterday. The biggest differences out there vs. back here are less trees, less traffic, and flatter terrain, so storms are easier to track for longer periods of time.

