I confess…I did see Beatrice mentioned as a possible target on another chaser’s blog. However, after reviewing models and an Omaha forecast discussion I decided to jump on the bandwagon. With a cold front pressing southeast, plenty of moisture, and lots of CAPE (convective potential) Beatrice looks like a good epicenter for southeastern Nebraska. We’ll find out tomorrow if my practice target was a good one. Need to get into top chasing mode before heading out to the Plains in May!

Meanwhile I missed all the low-topped hailstorms that traversed northern Virginia the past couple of days. I did look at a couple of cells from afar but I wasn’t impressed enough to fire up the chasemobile and trump my other plans. More activity coming our way next week? One model is hinting at convection Wednesday afternoon, but that’s still a long way off.

