I was hoping for a good chase setup today, but the SPC, the local Sterling forecast office, and the short range models all combined to quash any hope I had. Thus I gave up and trudged home after work, noticing an updraft to the west that I didn’t think twice about. After piddling around the house for 30 minutes or so I logged into the computer and Voila! That updraft had exploded into a lone storm with a hail marker on it. It took me two radar sweeps (~10 minutes) to conclude that it wasn’t going to fizzle out before I headed out into the rush hour traffic and painfully made my way to the New Post area of Spotsylvania. There I took a quick peek at the radar and decided to get south of the slow moving cell. Pushing through back roads I wound up at Thornburg just as the rain started and motored south on U.S. Route 1, finally locating an observation spot off a rural lane in Caroline county.
The storm had a very distinct rain free base on the south edge of the rain shaft and was sucking up scud with a vengeance. When the rain/hail shaft approached I ventured onto more back roads, winding up at one spot where the obviously rotating mesocyclone base was directly overhead and a gathering wallcloud was literally a couple hundred yards to my west:
Again avoiding the rain and hail as much as possible I maneuvered my way back to Route 1 and moved further south, finding a sports complex where I parked on a hill with a clear view of the meso and a distinct wallcloud:

The video camera captured the rotation of the wallcloud and I’ll post that when I have a chance to edit it. I continued further south as the rain once again caught up with me, winding up at the Carmel Church exit off I-95 to watch as the storm appeared to weaken. I never saw any definite funnels, but I did watch the wallcloud cycle several times. Cool!

