Three months ago today I was at this exact spot in King George county filming and videoing a rain-free base between two cells when a funnel extended toward the earth. Today, I spied a decent cell on radar heading northward from the Caroline / Hanover county line and decided to stop in this same spot to observe – yes – another rain-free base. As I watched the feature above descended almost in the exact spot as the one in May. Given the fuzzy visibility from the tropical haze plus rainfall I wasn’t certain whether this was just scud or a rotating funnel, so I didn’t call it in to the Sterling NWS mets. However…after reviewing the stills I took (didn’t have the video camera with me) I am now convinced I saw another funnel in the same place I saw one on May 28th. (Especially with the view in the bottom photo in which a clear core is very likely the center of rotation.) A review of radar velocities didn’t show anything definitely rotating, but this is most likely another case of minor rotation occurring below the NWS Sterling radar horizon. One of these days I’m going to write a paper on that…

