September appears to be exiting without any chaseable storms in our area. The last possibility seems to be Monday afternoon/evening when a strong cold front is forecast to blast through here. Unfortunately there won’t be much moisture to support storms, and the models (see one depiction above) don’t show much in the way of accompanying instability. Now if I was inclined to hop onto the interstates and plow my way down into the traffic-laden Tidewater area I could improve my odds of chasing greatly…but I’m as likely to do that as I am to head north and chase in the DC suburbs (NOT!!). However if anything decent fires as close as the Tappahannock vicinity I might be tempted to head out. Meanwhile the longer term forecast is bleak for storms but looking great for autumnal outdoor activities.

