Sitting here with snow melting – slowly – outside I needed a convective fix so I reviewed some photos from the May 28th King George county chase during which I witnessed a surprise funnel drop under a rain free base to the west. Prior to that I had been keeping an eye on a wall cloud to my east, of which two views are shown above, and I was also videoing. The feature was (a) sucking up scud and (b) almost stationary in the field of view as the parent cloud moved right-to-left (south-to-north). There were signs of rotation evident, but this wall cloud moved north and became rain-wrapped without dropping a funnel. After the rain obscured my view of it I turned westward and saw the aforementioned surprise funnel. Lesson learned? Don’t give up on a chase just because the first interesting feature disappears. You never know what might show up next!

