Given that the cold front passed through the Northern Virginia area around 10:00 a.m. I was not expecting a chase today.  I was headed to the metropolis of Orange this morning so I couldn’t have chased anything that happened east of I-95 anyway.  On my way back out of Orange around 1:20 p.m. I noticed a solitary convective tower to the east, with a well-developed anvil that made my mouth water as a potential chase target.  I knew from the low angle on the horizon that I was way out of position and would never catch up to it, but I decided to check the actual location via my new handy-dandy mobile WiFi device and my ITouch.  I was amazed to find out that this solitary storm was already over the Eastern Shore – see above graphic at roughly the correct time – and steaming toward Chincoteague!  By my rough calculation (via Google maps) I was drooling over a storm that was 140 miles from me!!!!  Wow!  That kind of visibility may be common in the flat rural areas of Tornado Alley but I’m not accustomed to such vistas here in the Mid-Atlantic!!

