The title isn’t meant to disparage the county or its residents, but it does refer to the undesirability of storm chasing there due to the lack of roads and the plethora of trees that prevent a good field of vision most places.  I waited to leave the house until radar verified a cell heading eastward across Spotsylvania county was actually holding together and even intensifying, since most of the updrafts I was eyeing had fallen apart prior to reaching I-95.  This methodology worked only because the cell I chose to chase was moving relatively slowly (18 knots), leaving me free to cruise down Route 2 before turning westward on Stonewall Jackson Road (Rte 606).  As I espied the southern edge I noticed a rain free base, which immediately sharpened my focus.  Searching for a path to the south I wound my way along until plunging southward on Rte 632 and found a spot to view the oncoming storm.  This photo – at 5:03 EDT – shows a lowering that I deemed a wall cloud as I detected a wee bit of low level rotation on the radar view:

Six minutes later I snapped this closeup of scud gathering at the southern edge of the rain shaft:

I never visually detected rotation, but speeding up the video 8x shows obvious rotation on a significant wall cloud (better view than any of my still shots).  Don’t believe I witnessed a funnel tho’, just leftover scud.
After the rain shaft got too close I motored further south into Caroline county, zooming through the countryside looking for viewing spots and not finding many.  I wound up going through the metropolis of Bowling Green and settling southwest of there off Route 207 as the storm passed overhead.  Good chase, and even more so after I reviewed the video!

