I knew the Storm Prediction Center had outlooked our area for a 5% probability of severe storms but didn’t think about heading out for a chase since it was a rather spotty forecast under a weak shear regime (can we say more popup storms?).  Turns out I didn’t have to go anywhere:  a storm came to me, and I’m still listening to its grumbling thunder as I type this.  As has been typical for 2012 this was yet another twilight event under failing light conditions.  This was the storm relative velocity radar view at 8:20 p.m.:

As shown inside the red circle there was detectable low level rotation under this cell and I could see a corresponding wall cloud in the distance:

Content to let things develop I continued to observe this snail-paced complex as it approached.  The northern cell intensified and took over, sucking in the surface winds as it grew stronger and organized.  The result was another wall cloud to my northwest:

This area of the cell continued to develop and clearly showed evidence of being the base of a mesocyclone:

Currently this updraft has split into two separate cells which are both continuing their path north and east.

Pretty good for an in situ chase!!

UPDATE 0930 Wednesday 8/1:  Edited the short video I took of this wall cloud and decided to post it here…

