Aggghhhh!   The models are agreeing that the upcoming cold frontal passage will happen overnight Thursday into Friday morning here in Virginia.  Of course that’s just about the worst timing for a storm chase but that seems to be typical for April events in the Old Dominion.  Per this morning’s 12Z NAM and GFS runs the best I can hope for is some late afternoon / evening convection breaking out on Thursday ahead of the front.  If that occurs in a region that is chaseable I may even consider a night intercept to see some lightning.  Otherwise the next opportunity for storms appears to be late next week. 
I’m still hoping the front will slow down due to a surface low pressure developing along it, delaying convective activity east of the mountains until sometime on Friday.  The NAM has shown indications of that so I’ve got my fingers crossed.  Meanwhile I foresee much model-watching over the next 24-36 hours!

