This chase started with my son and I checking out the “Tail-end Charlie” cell in a line traversing Halifax county. Then we doubled back west to catch a storm in Pittsylvania County that dropped a wall cloud and eventually became tornado-warned near Richmond after we pulled off it. (To keep up with it we would have had to core punch given our road options.) After that one we checked out yet another cell a bit further west.

Photos taken of the other storms we chased show several good views of wall clouds but this frame grab from my dashcam shows a feature underneath the “Tail-end Charlie” cell that I at first dismissed as nothing important. But after I reviewed the video I realized that (a) it wasn’t just a rain shaft and (b) it and the cloud base above it showed rotation.

Was it a funnel that I didn’t recognize at first? Possibly!

