Another Moderate Risk setup ended in yet another BUST on 13 June. Starting in the Appomattox vicinity I selected a severe-warned cell in a break between two convective line segments. That storm weakened and I wound up with no radar updates in the cell signal “no-man’s-land” between there and the James River. Finally diving south toward Amelia Courthouse I tried to get ahead of the rest of the squall line but was thwarted by a downed tree blocking the main route.

By the time I rerouted the line caught up with me near Amelia so I pulled off the highway and let it sweep over me. One gust actually rocked the chasemobile even tho’ I had it pointed into the wind. I obtained no decent still photos but this frame grab from the dashcam shows one of the many CGs that rained down around me.

