I couldn’t bring myself to label this a “chase” as there was little of note that happened. Still, a convective line in my figurative back yard is hard to ignore so I didn’t. Heading out to a local hilltop spot I set up a live stream just because I could and tweeted out that fact. As a northern cell approached the Roanoke valley over a nearby ridgeline I noted this lowering that never amounted to anything:

The southern end of the line was also visible and it began to exhibit shelf cloud characteristics as I watched:

As the northern cell slid left to right in front of me I wound up under the photogenic leading edge:
And then finally a feature appeared on the back side of this cell that caught my eye, but it too never developed into anything:
Thus it was not a “chase” but it was a chance to get out and observe some local convection. That’s something.
