With a “wedge front” boundary along the Blue Ridge mountains providing ~30 kts of deep layer shear and with surface-based CAPE near 1500 my interest was piqued when a broken line of storms fired over West Virginia and moved southeast. Initially I pushed northward into Botetourt county to take an initial peek but never could find a decent vantage point. (My favorite hilltop sports complex was out of play due to roadwork that blocked the most convenient entrance.)

Giving up on the northern idea I noted the southernmost cell had turned right and was moving – slowly – directly toward Roanoke. So, grabbing dinner via a fast food drive-through I motored to an open parking lot near the airport where I set up my equipment and ate my dinner as the storm crawled in my direction. Radar indicated broad rotation as I kept my eye on this lowering:

Up until just before the rain started surface winds continued out of the east so the storm was still organizing (i.e. not outflow-dominant). 
Meanwhile just to the north of this lowering I noticed this suspicious feature behind the leading cloud edge. It didn’t last more than a minute or so but it kept drawing my eye as a possible funnel:
When the leading edge did pass over my position I snapped this photo of the lowering directly over the airport:
The rain was heavy but not of flash flood quantity and there was very little wind or lightning as the storm swooped over me. In fact this was the view to the west just a handful of minutes after the above photo:
And that was it. Nothing spectacular but a neat local “chase” of the only severe-warned storm of the evening in these parts.
