Sept 17 2004 Fauquier county tornado from Ivan’s remnants

I’ve been fortunate enough to be asked to provide storm chasing presentations at several venues lately. The first opportunity came at the request of Robin Reed of WDBJ7 (TV station here in Roanoke) who is teaching an Intro. to Meteorology class at Virginia Tech this semester. I spoke to his class two weeks ago about the 2014 Hokie Stormchase trip and a bit about what chasing is like here in Virginia.

Next up is a Virginia stormchasing presentation to Dave Carroll’s – VT meteorology instructor – class two days from now. I’ve given similar talks several times to his classes over the past couple of years. (He has occasionally billed me as the person who has seen more tornadoes in Virginia than anyone else but I have my doubts about that claim!)

In addition to these opportunities it appears that I will be providing similar storm chase presentations at the upcoming ScienceFest events in both Blacksburg (10/4) and Roanoke (10/10-11). Times and places are still TBD but I look forward to these events. If there are no storms to chase the next best thing is to talk about chasing storms!!

