Four years ago today a strong cold front triggered severe storms across the Mid-Atlantic that resulted in the SPC issuing this probabilistic outlook graphic:

This, in turn, led to the following storm reports from that day:

Having followed the progress of this system across the country with its accompanying eastward march of severe weather I was primed to chase. With my chase gear in the vehicle I attended a meeting in southern Maryland that day, departing (fortunately) just as severe weather warnings were first posted for the region. Following a quick stop at a WiFi spot to check radar – not having mobile WiFi at that time – I rolled westward along VA Route 3 toward Fredericksburg.

Spying this approaching storm I stopped to observe and photograph the obviously rotating cell:

Zooming in to the area circled in red I saw this funnel:
I stayed east of this storm for a while as it cycled down and then back up but never witnessed another funnel. It was a very productive chase as the season was reaching its conclusion that year!
