Tags

,

Having watched the models the past few days I felt confident that discrete storms would fire east of the Blue Ridge today, most likely over Bedford or Campbell counties. When several runs of this morning’s HRRR short range model seemed to indicate the same thing I decided to chase. And when the SPC upped its Day One convective outlook for much of Virginia from Marginal to a Slight risk I felt totally justified.

Of course nothing remotely convective happened. I wandered over much of Bedford county awaiting action but all I saw visually and via radar was a couple of lines of mainly stratiform rain. This was a nice view of the Peaks of Otter being obscured by rain but it wasn’t anything close to what I thought I’d be seeing:

Rural rain view

Maybe there will be some lightning and thunder tonight as the cold front works its way through the area. That’s about all I have to hope for out of this setup.

Next.

