Tags

Early June chasing in Virginia has been pretty lame thanks to a multi-day CAD wedge. I did go out locally yesterday – June 5th –  to check out some showers passing across the valley after the wedge FINALLY broke.

IMG_2646

This cell approaching from the west looked promising visually and on radar but the parameters just weren’t there over the Roanoke valley. Everything fell apart as I watched.

This morning I was in Waynesboro VA for some family visiting. As I headed home I noticed updrafts going up with some even looking robust. I leisurely poked my way homeward, crossing the Blue Ridge at Peaks of Otter to check out some cells that had forded the mountains. Nothing really took off so the best photo I took was of this convection over the Peaks:

IMG_2649

There could be some chasing on the horizon next week but whether I can actually head out is debatable.

