Tags

, ,

I missed an early afternoon convective setup today as I had other plans when a line of strong storms (and one that went severe) crossed the region. Nonetheless I kept an eye on more cells crossing West Virginia and decided to “chase” them at a vantage point at a local park when they neared. The bulk of the action looked like it would stay south of me so I set up the live stream and began snapping photos.

By the time I got in place the south edge of the complex was beginning to cross the southern end of the Roanoke valley. I kept an eye – and several camera lenses – on it while watching some interesting features to the west. I noticed this mesocyclone wannabe that corresponded to some broad rotation on radar:

Suspicious base

In a few minutes the northern updraft also exhibited some interesting features so I captured both of them lurking over the chasemobile:

Twin bases over chasemobile

Eventually both cells dissipated and the rotation disappeared from radar. This was the last photo I took of the northern cell:

northernmost cell

As a “chase in place” it was enjoyable since there was little driving involved. The next couple of days I anticipate more activity in our region so currently the mobile hotspots are charging.

