Tags

, ,

I really hoped to chase discrete cells east of the mountains today, stuff that I thought may go up well ahead of the onrushing MCS. Such was not to be, however, as the first storm didn’t fire until nearly 5 pm. By that time I had decided I didn’t want to chase east and then head back home westward into the teeth of the MCS. The line had a history of tree damage and power outages and I didn’t want to deal with that especially after dark.

Thus I set up shop at a local vantage point, switching on the live stream and snapping photos as the convection approached. The following is a series of snapshots taken from that hilltop location.

mammatus ahead of line

Mammatus ahead of the MCS

Overview of the line

Overview of the line

First lowering

First lowering

eye catching scud

Eye-catching scud

When the cloud bases began swooping across the nearest ridge line I pulled up stakes and motored home. I jumped out of the chasemobile and snapped photos and took a number of video clips of the cool-looking leading edge of the line.

Coming over the ridge

Coming over the ridge

Over the house

Over the house

When I have a chance I’ll go thru the video clips and put something together that reflects the overall event. Meanwhile I’m now looking forward to tomorrow’s setup!!

