Tags

, ,

So I had already written off chasing today…and then I peeked at radar just after 6 pm. Big mistake!

What I saw was two storms northwest of Christiansburg that each exhibited supercellular characteristics on radar, complete with “flying eagle” split updrafts and small hook echoes. Their overall vector was ESE so after several radar updates I jumped in the chasemobile and motored south on U.S. Route 220 to intercept them in the Rocky Mount vicinity.

I set up shop near Wirtz overlooking a field of corn and switched on the live stream. Unfortunately the visibility could best be described as fuzzy so photos and videos all showed a gray mush. Also unfortunately the discrete storms merged into a weakening line by the time they crossed the Blue Ridge so this was the view I had:

Western view_2As more rain showers popped up around me I repositioned a bit east to see if a different view would help. It didn’t, so I called it a chase and rolled home.

In retrospect I concluded the original supercellish storms had spun up on a warm front draped across the mountains southwest of Roanoke. Once the storms moved off the front they merged with other indistinct cells and the overall convection weakened. S’okay, tho’.

