Tags

,

I really like this photo in Campbell county from the May 11th chase…except for the power lines in the frame:

overall Lynchburg storm

I had chased some convection in Henry county (near the NC border) early that afternoon but it didn’t amount to much. Checking radar I spied a discrete storm heading across the Blue Ridge mountains north of Lynchburg so I blasted northward to intercept. It went severe and turned right, diving southeast.

IMG_2421

This photo came from a stop on the south side of VA Rte 24 near Rustburg. Given a steady flow of high speed traffic I couldn’t safely cross the road to get under the power lines and keep them out of the frame. Thus I had a great view but my photographs were “contaminated”.

Things a chaser thinks about during the doldrums between chase seasons…

