Tags

, , , , , ,

March has come in like a lamb (if you ignore the light snow across the Old Dominion last night) so things are quiet now and look to stay that way for the next 10 days or so. Meanwhile I’ve had a chance to look over my data from the Feb. 24th chase.

Here’s the tornado warning issued for the second storm along the squall line (QLCS) that I was watching from a hilltop east of Danville:

TOR wng_2 1954Z

Tornado warning issued 2:54 pm

(The cell just to the north of this polygon was the storm that eventually dropped the tornado in Appomattox county. It was tornado-warned 13 minutes before this second warning was issued. I had to let it go as it was screaming northward at highway speeds.)

wallcloud under 2nd storm

Wall cloud underneath second storm

This was the wall cloud underneath the second storm as it headed right toward me. (Here is the link to a sped up video clip of this cell.) I had to egress to the east shortly after this photo was taken as the rain encroached on my location. I maneuvered on rural county roads between this storm and the third cell – now severe-warned – along the squall line over the next 30 minutes.

This fourth storm along the line became tornado-warned at 3:59 pm, just over an hour after the warning above was issued.

TOR wng_4 2059Z

When this warning was issued I was racing east toward South Boston on U.S. Route 58. I had to give up on the severe-warned storm northeast of Danville (the 3rd storm in the line) to escape the approaching business end of this newly tornado-warned cell. The hail core weakened just before passing a mile west of me as I sheltered underneath a gas station awning near South Boston.

I did keep going east toward Clarksville to check out the fifth storm (just south of the polygon above) but didn’t see a wall cloud as its core passed by a couple miles east of me. That was likely due to the mesocyclone being completely rain wrapped by this time.

This was a very busy and exhausting chase. Even tho’ I saw no tornados I count it a major success in positioning, navigating, and observing. And I thoroughly enjoyed myself while providing ground truth for the NWS and TV broadcast mets!

