Tags

, , ,

I was a bit optimistic that SPC would issue a Marginal Risk across parts of Virginia today. They didn’t, but a severe TS did rumble eastward across the Roanoke valley this afternoon. I wasn’t able to get into position on it given timing issues so I dropped south on U.S. Route 220 to Rocky Mount and then turned east on VA Route 40.

My plan was to check out the severe storm as it crossed the Blue Ridge mountains but I had no good road options with which to so so. (Smith Mountain Lake was in the way.) I wound up traveling all the way to Gretna to get ahead of the growing convective line. Along the way I stopped east of Penhook to watch this lowering to my west for a few minutes.Lowering from just E of Penhook

The most energetic part of the line looked like it was aiming at Altavista but by the time I reached Gretna that section had weakened. Not to worry, though, as several cells began firing out ahead of the line just west of town. Thus I found a spot a bit north of Gretna to watch and live stream a bit.

When the rain encroached on my location I rolled thru rural Pittsylvania county to reach Rte 40 east of Gretna. I sat at a road junction near Mt. Airy for a while hoping to conduct a “static core punch” as the storm slowly moved toward me.IMG_6654

Unfortunately that section of the line weakened before it reached me so I dropped south to intercept a newly intensified portion. That too fell apart so all I was left with was 25+ mph outflow winds and heavy rain.

However all was not done yet. I turned west on VA Route 57 toward Chatham and then noticed a section of the line to my south that had some interesting features.

That rain-free base seemed to be vacuuming up scud so I watched for a few minutes. Nothing else occurred before more heavy rain filled in so I called it a day and pointed the chasemobile toward home.

