Tags

,

Yes, I bit on today’s non-severe setup (not much shear but decent instability). The slow moving discrete storms exhibited on short term model solutions (HRRR and a WRF model or two) sufficiently tempted me that I rolled down the driveway at noon today. I drove south to Rocky Mount and then east on VA Route 40 keeping an eye on updrafts building on the edge of a high level overcast. The differential heating boundary between sunny and overcast areas proved to be near the U.S. Route 29 corridor so after a brief stop in Gretna to gain better situational awareness I dropped south to check out the first storm.

Noting that this cell had edged east of Rte 29 I turned in that direction on a rural road and wound up at the crossroads of Sheva with this radar view:IMG_6669

This was a rain-free base under that first cell (looking east):northern updraft from Sheva

Turning to the south this was the updraft looking over top the church there:Second storm near Sheva

With more storms building to the southwest I plunged southward from Sheva. Pausing a few miles further on this was my view of the first storm as it continued eastward with a hint of scud developing into a lowering under the rain-free base:Lowering under first storm

I chose to let this storm go in favor of pushing to get south of the next cell steaming in from the west. This was intensifying and looking more robust:IMG_6675

Unfortunately that first storm turned out to be the storm of the day. It was never severe-warned but its radar signature somewhat resembled a classic supercell with a split updraft by the time the base reached the town of Halifax.

I spend the next couple hours navigating through, in, and around a number of new cells and wound up east of Danville watching this weakening storm approach.

From here it was a simple decision to call it a chase and head home as the convection was continuing to weaken. Even though I saw nothing severe it had been a fun couple of hours!

