Should I admit that I’m considering chasing the next two very sultry July afternoons?

A couple of upper level “wrinkles” plus a weak front sagging southward are all keeping my attention focused despite the summertime doldrums. Things to watch: overnight MCS’s, remnant outflow boundaries, and upper level temperatures (e.g. cap strength). Oh, and not leaving to chase too early is high on the list as well. It’s too miserably hot and sticky to sit by the side of a highway somewhere waiting for storms to fire.

Saturday might involve a hike northward to the I-64 corridor; I’ll have to decide on a target that morning. Monday may also be on the table for a chase but that will have to wait a couple more days before I commit. This year has been somewhat less productive than the 2016 chase season so I could be grasping at straws here.

